2nd International Workshop on Energy-aware Simulation (ENERGY-SIM’16)

21st June 2016 | Waterloo, Canada

Co-located with the ACM e-Energy 2016, the 7th ACM International Conference on Future Energy Systems.

Sponsored by ACM

In-cooperation with IEEE IEEE Technical Committee on Green Communications & Computing (TCGCC)


The energy impact of IT infrastructures is a significant resource issue for many organisations. The Natural Resources Defence Council estimates that US data centers alone consumed 91 billion kilowatt-hours of electrical energy in 2013 – enough to power the households of New York twice-over – and this is estimated to grow to 139 billion kilowatt-hours by 2020. However, this is an underestimation as this figure fails to take into account other countries and all other computer usage. There are calls for reducing computer energy consumption to bring it in line with the amount of work being performed – so-called energy proportional computing. In order to achieve this we need to understand both where the energy is being consumed within a system and how modifications to such systems will affect the functionality (such as QoS) and the energy consumption. Monitoring and changing a live system is often not a practical solution. There are cost implications in doing so, and it normally requires significant time in order to fully ascertain the long-term trends. There is also the risk that any changes could lead to detrimental impacts, either in terms of the functionality of the system or in the energy consumed. This can lead to a situation where it is considered too risky to perform anything other than the most minor tweaks to a system. The use of modelling and simulation provides an alternative approach to evaluating where energy is being consumed, and assessing the impact of changes to the system. It also offers the potential for much faster turn-around and feedback, along with the ability to evaluate the impact of many different options simultaneously.

ENERGY-SIM 2016 seeks original work that is focused on addressing new research and development challenges, developing new techniques, and providing case studies, related to energy-aware simulation and modelling.

Specific topics of interest to ENERGY-SIM 2016 include, but are not limited to, the following:

Submission Guidance

Papers will be accepted in one of two formats:

Papers describing significant research contributions of theoretical and/or practical nature are being solicited for submission. Authors are invited to submit original, high-quality papers presenting new research related to energy-aware simulations.

The papers that are accepted and presented at the workshop will be published by ACM and disseminated through the ACM Digital Library. It is intended that the best papers will be put forward for a Journal special edition post workshop.

Submission will be made via EasyChair: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=energysim16

Organising Committee

General Chair - Stephen McGough, Durham University, UK
Programme Chair - Matthew Forshaw, Newcastle University, UK

Programme Committee

Erol Gelenbe, Imperial College London, UK
Helen Karatza, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
Ibad Kureshi, Durham University, UK
Mehrgan Mostowfi, University of Northern Colorado, USA
Omer Rana, Cardiff University, UK
Nigel Thomas, Newcastle University, UK
Ananta Tiwari, San Diego Supercomputer Center, USA

Important Dates

Technical Programme




Welcome and Introductions


Session 1:
Communication Energy Evaluation for Mobile Applications: Emulating 3G over WiFi
Alexander Alesand, Ekhiotz Jon Vergara and Simin Nadjm-Tehrani

Packet Transmission with K Energy Packets in an Energy Harvesting Sensor
Yasin Murat Kadioglu and Erol Gelenbe</td> </tr>


Coffee break


Session 2:
Gradient Optimisation of the EPN Model with Approximate Matrix Inversion
Elif Tugce Ceran and Erol Gelenbe

Modeling power flow in computer and server systems
Tuomo Malkamäki and Seppo Ovaska.

The Case for Energy-Aware Simulation and Modelling of Internet of Things (IoT) - Invited Paper
Matthew Forshaw, Nigel Thomas, Stephen McGough</td> </tr> </tbody> </table>